No More Excuses

Entertainment Weekly - Battlestar GalacticaBuckaroo’s Entertainment Weekly arrived today, and I was thrilled to see that they put Battlestar Galactica on the cover.  Not only is there a feature article about the behind the scenes of the show, but EW also has "all you need to know to catch up for Season 3" which starts October 6th.  Now I’m a little hesitant to read the article about the upcoming season as EW has not always been very careful in warning readers of spoilers.  Last year I was flipping through their issue about the second season of Lost, and just by looking at the pictures, they made it quite clear that Ana Lucia and the other "tailees" would be joining the cast. 

Okay, let’s say for a moment that you don’t subscribe to EW (turn in your gay card now).  You can still get caught up on the series by going to a special website they have set up called "The Story So Far."  There you will find video primers on everything you need to begin watching season 3.  I know you have Internet access or you wouldn’t be reading this, so you’re out of excuses: it’s time to begin watching what many critics are calling the best show on television.

Don’t give me the old "But I don’t like sci fi" excuse.  As many of my readers will attest, BSG is a great drama that just happens to be set in space.  There are no weird alien species to worry about; in fact, there are really no aliens at all.  The technology on BSG isn’t all futuristic, but rather much like what we have available today.  The story lines are very real and complex. 

Battlestar Galactica - President Laura RoslinTake the character Laura Roslin (left, actress Mary McDonnell).  Just shortly before the attack that annihilates her homeworld, Roslin finds out she has breast cancer.  As the Secretary of Education, she is the highest-ranking surviving government official, and therefore she’s sworn in as the new president.  As the rag-tag fleet of survivors search for a new home, she must deal with preserving order, establishing a new sort of government, keeping the military in check, and of course, maintaining the secret of her own illness for the sake of keeping hope alive in the fleet.

That’s just one of the many intricate plot lines in this series.  I would recommend that if you have the time, you should either rent the season 1 and 2 (and 2.5) DVD’s, or download them from iTunes.  If you can’t do that before the new series debut, at least go watch the video recaps.

With the new fall network television season looking the most anemic it has in years, now is the time to make room for BSG.  Set-up your TiVo Season Pass.  You’re out of excuses.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: Battlestar Galactica is one of the best (if not the best) television shows around.

"So say we all."

11 Responses to No More Excuses

  1. Scott says:

    P.S. Help me tell others about BSG by voting on this story on Netscape here.


  2. David says:

    Nope, don’t subscribe to EW. Never have. Never will. No interest.

    Go the special website and watch all the video primers? When? While I’m asleep? At work? At rehearsal? Teaching yoga? At the gym? At the theatre? Posting on my blog? Reading your blog?

    Download from iTunes? Is it free? Are you sending me the money if it isn’t?

    TiVo? Don’t get me started.

    I so love yanking your chain.

  3. Larry says:

    And if you’re a BSG fan, don’t forget to check out and watch the webisodes that are being released on Tuesday’s and Thursdays all the way until season 3 premieres in October :)

  4. Margaret says:

    I actually started watching the new BSG by default-I was visiting my sister in Cailfornia when it premiered, and I caught the first episode. I’ve been hooked on it ever since-it and Lost are the only two TV shows I watch anymore.

    I’m old enough to remember when the original BSG was on TV, and the differences are just so much better. I especially like what they’ve done to the Cylons-that most of them honestly believe they’re human and react accordingly. It’s so much harder to track down the enemy when they look just like you.

  5. Jake says:

    OK, I feel cheated – I don’t get that new issue until Monday! I want to live wherever he does so I can get my issue earlier.

  6. Dan says:

    Hey, I have seen and loved the whole BSG thing, well reported

  7. otilius says:

    I don’t get EW or watch BSG but I frequent BE…


  8. History Chic says:

    A friend of mine got me into this show and I will say that I love it!!! I think it has great storylines, great characters, and if you aren’t watching….you should catch the web episodes that they are showing!!! Great filler till next week when it starts!!!!

  9. Alexander says:

    Damn you Scott! I was all set to say NO to getting cable until I read your post and the article on the EW website. I was hoping I could hold off until Season 3 is out on DVD!!!

  10. Matt says:

    Right on! It is such a great show. The acting is top notch and the writing is always sharp. I was psyched EW gave the show such great exposure by putting BG on the cover.

  11. Jebb says:

    It’s the best show on television, and I daresay all of the major networks now wish they had it. Of the many things that make this show irresistible to me, the cylons talking about religion is at the top of the list. I love it when Number Six gets on one of her “God has a plan for you” speeches with Dr. Baltar. Coming from a toaster, it’s such a delicious contradiction.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

