The Ten Worst Christmas Songs

Every year I make a holiday music CD that I send out with my Christmas cards to friends and family. I started doing it several years ago when I realized I couldn’t find a holiday music compilation for sale that had all the Christmas songs on it that I really enjoy. I made the CD for myself with music I had downloaded off the original, illegal Napster. A couple of my friends heard it and asked me for a copy. That gave me the idea to share it as a musical Christmas card. It received such a great response, I’ve been doing it every year since.

This weekend I have been putting together the final touches on this year’s CD. I am an extreme perfectionist when it comes to making it. I spend hours agonizing over how well one song flows into the next and how long each crossfade should be. Buckaroo must think I’m silly to spend so much time on it, but I think the final product speaks for itself.

As I’ve gone through literally hundreds of songs deciding what to include, I have come across a fair amount of Christmas music that is bad… well actually worse than bad, they’re downright horrible! As a result I have come up with a list of what I consider to be the ten worse Christmas songs of all time. Keep in mind that there are many bad versions of otherwise decent songs that could be on this list as well, but these ten really stand out to me.

10. "Feliz Navidad" – José Feliciano: It’s not that this song is so especially horrible, but it gets stuck in my head and I can’t get it out. Not only that, but I change the lyrics and sing "There’s fleas on my dog" instead… over and over and over. Buckaroo will be upset that I put this song on the list as I believe it’s one of his favorites.

9. "Christmas Eve: Sarajevo" – Trans-Siberian Orchestra: Sorry Barbara, but a hard rock version of "Carol of the Bells?" I think not!

8. "Same Old Lang Syne" – Dan Fogelberg: I always hear this song played on the Christmas music station during the holidays. Doesn’t anybody realize that it’s not really a Christmas song?

7. "I Want A Hippopotamus For Christmas" – Gayla Peevey: Oh my God does this song get annoying fast! A couple of years ago it seemed that no matter where I went, this song was playing. This song makes me never want to have kids.

6. "Suzy Snowflake" – Rosemary Clooney: Rosemary Clooney recorded a heck of a lot of Christmas music during her life, and most of it I really like. This song however is just an abomination, and as such should be constitutionally banned from marrying its long-term, committed partner of the same sex. Oops… wait! I’m getting my abominations mixed up. This abomination should just be refused airplay.

5. "Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer" – Elmo & Patsy: This song was cute the first time I heard it. I might have even smiled the second time it played. In the 5,674,322 times I’ve heard it since, it just grates on my nerves. It is a joke that has gone on way too long. They even turned it into an animated Christmas special (which Buckaroo watched of course).

4. "Backdoor Santa" – Bon Jovi: This song was originally part of the very first "A Very Special Christmas" benefit album. I guess other people realized how bad the song was because on later copies of the CD, they replaced this song with another only slightly less bad Bon Jovi song. Fortunately it appears that you can’t buy this song anymore. Talk about your Christmas miracles!

Listen to Backdoor Santa: [audio:backdoorsanta.mp3]

 

3. "Jingle Bells Boogie" – Jingle Dogs: Whoever thought it would be amusing to make a recording of dogs barking to the tune of "Jingle Bells" deserves a very special place in hell.

2. "My Name is Christmas Carol" – Skip Ewing: Gag! A sappy country song about a little orphan named Christmas Carol. It’s so full of saccharine it will make you want to puke.

1. "Christmas Shoes" – NewSong: If you thought the last song was bad, this is ten time worse! This has got to be the most sappy, "tug at your heart strings" song ever! The problem is that it’s so manipulative. You can tell it was written just so it would get airplay as a sappy Christmas song. It doesn’t ring true or sincere. It’s about a kid begging the guy ahead of him in line at the store for a pair of shoes for his mama because he wants "her to look beautiful if Mama meets Jesus tonight." I truly worry about anybody who actually likes this song.

So there’s my list of the ten worst Christmas songs. Leave a comment and let me know what I’ve missed.

UPDATE: Want some good (and free!) Christmas music? Click here.

UPDATE 2: See the follow-up to this post here.

133 Responses to The Ten Worst Christmas Songs

  1. The Pacer says:

    How dare you place “Grandma Got Run Over By a Reigndeer” on your list. Shame! Shame!! Shame!!! It is the one song that captures the essense of the holidays. Give me your card back. It contains just the right amount of irony, bitterness, and sarcasm that makes it a gay Hallmark card in rhyth and rhym. Tsk! Tsk !! Tsk!!!

  2. charles says:

    how about the Jingle Bell Rock ?

  3. otilius says:

    yep, a big oversight to leave off JINGLE BELL ROCK, such a tiresome song…but, yeah, you can only pick 10, right? ho, ho, ho

  4. drama mama says:

    I totally agree on the shoe song. There you are in your car, listening to the festive tunes, when, SLAM! A totally depressing song! AAGGGGHHH!

  5. David says:

    Dan Fogleberg’s Same Old Lang Syne makes me cry every time I hear it. I love that song. Yeah, it’s not a Christmas Song, but it’s the holidays AND New Year season, so I think it’s perfectly appropriate for it to get airplay this time of year. So there.

    I love Grandma Got Run Over…, too.

    I Hate Hate Hate “Dominick the Italian Christmas Donkey.” That song is grounds for homicide.

    As for my hit parade, I do like “I Believe in Father Christmas” by Emerson Lake and Palmer. And “Christmas Rapping” by the Waitresses.

  6. Ed says:

    Good list Scott… I am totally with you on “Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer”… in a more Chanukah vein… OY!

    Going after “bigger fish,” I really have serious disdain for “The Little Drummer Boy” and any version of the song “Jingle Bells” that has “ha ha ha ha ha” after the line “Laughing all the way”… drives me batty!

    I hope you are going to share with us what makes the “best” list some time closer to the holiday!

  7. Marc says:

    OMG, Rosemary Clooney died?! How come I didn’t know about this? And what will happen to George Clooney’s celebrity status without his famous aunt to prop it up?

  8. La Sequencia says:

    1. “Holy Shit, It’s Christmas!” by Red Peters.

    2. All of the Christmas songs sung by the Chipmunks.

    Cheers!

  9. David Quinn says:

    First you critize office potluck people (me). Now, you go and put three of my most favoritest Christmas songs on your worst Christmas song list. Are you just pure evil?

  10. Leanne says:

    Well thanks alot Scott, I will now and forever sing “there’s fleas on my dog”.

  11. Scott says:

    David Q-

    I’m curious, which 3 songs?

    And yes, as any long-term reader of my blog can tell you, I am pure evil.

    Leanne-

    See the pure evil comment above. 😉

  12. musicguy says:

    I agree- TOTALLY dislike the Christmas Shoe song. I turn the station as soon as I hear the introduction. I do, however, like Same Old Lang Syne. It’s very depressing, especially that last line- “The snoe turned into rain…” I like it anyway:-)

  13. Todd says:

    I hate hate hate Brenda Lee’s Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree. It’s the most annoying song ever. To me.

  14. JayDeeKay says:

    Backdoor Santa. I didn’t know Santa was into advertising his sexual preferences. LOL.

    When you come right down to it; I think there are more bad Christmas songs than good ones.

  15. Barbara says:

    I seriously disagree with your inclusion of Trans-Siberian Orchestra on your list, but then I am talking to someone who fantasizes that he is Donna Summer. So, our musical tastes will never mesh… though I do agree with most of the other songs on your list. Okay… all of them except TSO. I love that song.

  16. Scott says:

    Barbara-

    For the record, I am not a big Donna Summer fan.

    I would much rather be Bono than Barbra (that other Barbra… not you).

  17. Jaclyn says:

    Yeah, Jingle Bell Rock is awful, as is Rockin’ Around The Christmas Tree. The Trans-Siberian Orchestra is just a mess. My father played that almost non-stop two years ago as we drove down to Flori-duh to collect my brother from college in Gainesville. This was right after I was released from a stint in the hossy due to nervous exhaustion. I was plotting his death and mine before we ever left Ohio.

    I much prefer the Chipmunks Sing Christmas and “It’s Christmas Charlie Brown” compilation. In fact, the theme PEANUTS is running through my head right now.

    Damn thing is, I can’t find EITHER of these albums this year. Grrr.

  18. Paul says:

    Hmm.. I think you forgot some of those Jingle Dogs/Jingle Cats/Jingle Babies songs.😦

    I heard the Jingle Babies one and wanted to shove knitting needles in my ears to make it stop. Good thing I was able to change the station quick.

    I don’t mind Rockin Around the Christmas Tree much, though it does get overplayed.

  19. skankysmellywhore says:

    Please, the all time worst has to be ” A Wonderful Christmas Time” by Paul McCartney.. I want to drive into a wall when it comes on the car radio.

  20. Joe says:

    “I wish it could be Christmas Everyday” is awful and anything Johnny Mathis and I want to throw a bucket of golden showers (though he might like that) on ricky martin for his crap-tacular endlessly annoying “Ay, Ay, Ay It’s Christmas”

  21. meryl says:

    And I thought I was the only one who got Felix Navidad stuck in my head every year during this time of the year since I learned that song in 5th grade!

  22. charles says:

    But one instance that I liked Jingle Bell Rock is seeing Lindsay Lohan sing and dance on it in Mean Girls

  23. Troy says:

    Christmas Carole

    I was playin’ Santa Claus
    Downtown on Christmas Eve
    When a little girl of three or four
    Climbed up onto my knee

    I could tell she had a Christmas wish
    Behind those eyes of blue
    So I asked her, ‘What’s your name?
    What can Santa get for you?’

    She said, ‘My name is Christmas Carol
    I was born on Christmas Day
    I don’t know who my daddy is
    My mommy’s gone away
    All I want for Christmas is
    Someone to take me home
    Does anybody want
    A Christmas Carol of their own?’

    Well, all that I could say was
    Santa’d do the best he could
    And I set her down and told her
    ‘Now remember to be good’

    She said, ‘I will’, then walked away
    Turned and waved goodbye
    And I’m glad she wasn’t close enough
    To see old Santa cry

    She said, ‘My name is Christmas Carol
    I was born on Christmas Day
    I don’t know who my daddy is
    My mommy’s gone away
    All I want for Christmas is
    Someone to take me home
    Does anybody want
    A Christmas Carol of their own?’

    Early Christmas morning
    I got up and dialed the phone
    I made a few arrangements
    With the County Children’s Home

    They told me it would be all right
    To pick her up today
    Now my little Christmas Carol
    Won’t ever have to say

    ‘My name is Christmas Carol
    I was born on Christmas Day
    I don’t know who my daddy is
    My mommy’s gone away
    All I want for Christmas is
    Someone to take me home
    Does anybody want
    A Christmas Carol of their own?’

    Well, Merry Christmas Carol
    I love you
    Welcome home

  24. orene says:

    I just want you to know your are a idiot that is the best christmas song ever you are heartless “my name is christmas carol”

  25. Puggyspice says:

    “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas” is like… the best Christmas song ever! And “Same Auld Lang Syne” is very endearing.

    Totally agree about “Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree” – I really hate the part where Brenda Lee’s voice does that DECK the halls with boughs of ho-o-o-lly-y – would much rather hear nails screeching down a chalkboard.

  26. Charlene says:

    “Christmas Shoes” is a song written to remind us about the true meaning of Christmas, “Christ”, if you listened to the words in the song you would realize that too. If you hate the true meaning of Christmas then just state that.

  27. Scott says:

    Charlene-

    I don’t see how my dislike of a sappy Christmas song in any way suggests me disliking the true meaning of Christmas or Christ. I think you’re making a pretty big assumption there.

    It’s people like you jumping to conclusions that is making this “Christ” in Christmas arguement get out of control.

  28. Breezy says:

    I personally think that if all you get out of “The Christmas Shoes” is a boy standing in line at a store… begging the guy in front of him for money… so his mom can look beautiful. ..then you’ve missed the point of the song. If you’ve seen the movie…. then it’s your opinion against mine… but if you haven’t… you should watch the movie… then maybe you would understand the song… I don’t think this song is trying to manipulate us… i think it’s trying to get our mind off of the materialistic things we’re so focused on during Christmas… and think about the things that truly matter.

  29. Doug says:

    I hate to say it, but I LOVE “I want a hippopotamus for christmas.” It is truly my favorite holiday song. I play it and stomp around the living room. Does that mean I can’t comment any more?

  30. Mike says:

    It’s not very popular, but Bryan Adams’s “Reggae Christmas” has got to be the worst X-mas song ever. I can overlook that he is perhaps the whitest man in Canada, but I can’t overlook the fact that he’s Bryan Adams.

  31. Phillip says:

    The one part of the Christmas Shoes song you forgot to mention is that the boy is actually buying his mother red thigh (perhaps knee) high pumps. He’s purchasing his mother hooker shoes so she can meet Jesus…I guess he did take a liking to prostitutes…

    Another bad one is “Christmas in Washington”. You might not have to hear that one in AZ.

  32. Zoinks says:

    The worst song ever has to be “Happy Birthday Jesus” on the Jon Waters Christmas Album..check it out. It cracks me up every time.

  33. Peter says:

    – “Jingle Bells” by the Dog Chorus
    – Anything by Alvin and the Chipmunks
    – “Silent Night” by Clay Aiken
    – “Last Christmas” by Wham!
    – “All I Want for Christmas is You” by Moriah Carey

  34. Louis says:

    How about the song Blue Blue Christmas sung in a porky Pig voice & the folks in the audience laughing like it was the funniest thing they ever heard .Playing of this song should be stopped

  35. Big Deadhead Biker says:

    Christmas Shoes as one of the 10 worst Christmas songs?
    Maybe you’ve never lost someone close to you, or dealt with the pain of terminal illness? This song is about getting back to what is important about Christmas…love and hope. Think about having nothing to give someone for Christmas other than love, think about a child’s love for his mother, think about peace.

  36. Bad Elf says:

    Paul McCartney’s “Simply Having a Wonderful Christmas Time” is the worst ever! A pathetic musical performance that sounds like it is played with one finger on a cheap synthesiser. coupled with lyrics that are atrocious and lazy: “Don’t cry poor children, sing this song
    Ding, dong, ding, dong, Ding, dong, ding.” Arghh! It’s enough to make you want to drown in the punch bowl.

  37. Wynkyn says:

    I like both the hippopotamus song and Trans-Siberian Orchestra.

  38. Suzi says:

    So I heard a song the other day that may rival Christmas Shoes in terms of sappiness. But there was no information about it on the broadcast! I need help finding out if anyone knows anything about it. It was a woman singing and sobbing at the same time, possibly in labor, but she was singing about Christmas and loss and missing someone really badly. Very tragic and overwrought. Does it ring a bell (heh…) for anyone?

  39. you suck says:

    you suck ass bitch…… fuck you and all your BS………. stupid mother fucker….. hoe……..suck me….

  40. you suck says:

    all these songs are cool man………….. i worry about you…………… carzy bitch…….. i love the christmas shoe……… you need some help………………………………… you pshyco loser dumb person who suck my balls and your mama dumb dick …….
    ………
    ..loser….loser…loser….. ………..
    o’doyle rules…………………. loser………….

  41. Howard says:

    What? Feliz Navidad? I love that song. Mostly because it has a triangle in it and I love playing air triangle. Yeah, I’m that guy.

    But it is funny, is it not, about tastes in music. Think of all the people you’ve offended with this list. You’re like some evil genius mastermind or something.

  42. Twizter says:

    Your a Pathetic fuck, of all the shit going on in the world you have so little in your meaningless existence that you needed to write this. Hey though thanks to you I know have the title and artists name of the song I was looking up. Thanx Loser >-|

  43. Scott says:

    I just love all these comments by people like Twitzer who aren’t brave enough to sign their name or use a real e-mail address. They defend songs like “Christmas Carol” and “Christmas Shoes” by attacking me and calling me a “pathetic fuck.”

    All the more reason for me to hate those songs. Obviously the people who listen to them have no idea what Christian love is.

    Thanks guys! You proved my point.

  44. arleen webb says:

    I love John Lennon’s Christmas song ( but I can never remember the real name of it ) one of the lines is “so this is Christmas”
    I love it I wish I had all the words.
    The all time very best Christmas song is O’ Holy Night
    Can you tell I just love Christmas ?

    PS I heard a really bad song about Christmas Cookies by the Oak Ridge Boys

  45. Scott says:

    Arleen-

    The song is called "Happy Xmas (War is Over)" by John Lennon and Yoko Ono. The song is on my 2001 holiday music mix which you can listen to or download for free here.

    Here’s the words:

    John Lennon & Yoko Ono – Happy Xmas (War Is Over)

    (Happy Christmas Yoko
    Happy Christmas Julian)

    So this is Christmas
    And what have you done
    Another year over
    And a new one just begun

    And so this is Christmas
    I hope you have fun
    The near and the dear ones
    The old and the young
    A very Merry Christmas
    And a happy New Year
    Let’s hope it’s a good one
    Without any fear

    And so this is Christmas (War is over)
    For weak and for strong (if you want it)
    The rich and the poor ones (War is over)
    The world is so wrong (now)
    And so happy Christmas (War is over)
    For black and for white (if you want it)
    For yellow and red ones (War is over)
    Let’s stop all the fight (now)

    A very Merry Christmas
    And a happy New Year
    Let’s hope it’s a good one
    Without any fear

    And so this is Christmas (War is over)
    And what have we done (if you want it)
    Another year over (War is over)
    And a new one just begun (now)
    And so happy Christmas (War is over)
    We hope you have fun (if you want it)
    The near and the dear ones (War is over)
    The old and the young (now)

    A very Merry Christmas
    And a happy New Year
    Let’s hope it’s a good one
    Without any fear

    War is over, if you want it
    War is over now

    Happy Xmas

  46. butch Kalson says:

    If you liked,loved,disliked or heck even hated the song “Grandma got run over by a reindeer”: check out the new sequel “Grandpa’s Revenge” available through itunes. You’ll hear how Grandpa forgot to take his prozac and thought up a great present for Santa while oiling up his chainsaw on Christmas eve. Enjoy!!!

  47. Patty says:

    Why do people get so worked up over a list??? Taste in music is like taste in anything. Some people like some things and other people like other things. I like different kinds of music. I think different people will have different songs they don’t like and other songs they do. I personally can’t stand Georgian Chants (about the only music I don’t care for) while my sister really likes Georgian chants. She also thinks rap is not music, but she was a music major at one time. Me I never liked “Grandma got ran over by a reindeer”. So just enjoy all the good Christmas music you can find. Patty

  48. Linda says:

    The TSO song (if I’m not mistaken) was written in honor of a young man who, amongst the bombs falling in his country, sat in the midst of it and played his string instrument (a cello). He was basically thumbing his nose at the war. That’s why the song gets angry, then loving, then angry, then loving. It’s pointing out the irony…that we can sit here in our warm homes, toasting Christmas, while others are fighting just to survive another day.

  49. Steve says:

    Feliz Navidad is the only Christmas song I DO like!

  50. Katherine says:

    Maybe these songs just bug you because you listen to so many different versions of different songs every year. I’m one for Christmas music and I don’t start listening to it until December 1 so that it is on my local radio station. You don’t have to have the cards done until like a week from now!!!

  51. jester says:

    I can’t believe none of you mentioned the most atrocious songs of the holiday season…

    Santa Claus is Coming to Town-Bruce Springsteen… seriously, he sounds like Santa should bring him a big can of Metamucil so he won’t have to strain so hard to sound so shitty.

    And the all time worst: Blue Christmas – Elvis. Makes me want to stab my eardrums out with an icicle.

  52. Tanya says:

    I read this list to get a laugh out of really bad Xmas songs that we all know and love. But inside the Rosemary Clooney post you bash Gay marriage?! What the hell? Good job at inspiring good will towards man and all that great xmas spirit.

  53. shane says:

    You are an idiot

  54. Paul Mc Enery says:

    With the possible exception of Feliz Navidad I wholeheartidly agree. Why is it that all the garbage music comes out, usually recorded by the losers or soon to be losers, at Christmas time.

    Have a Merry & Blessed Christmass

  55. t says:

    I have seen your name elsewhere as the recipient of the top worst listmakers.

  56. bonni murrell says:

    well,,,,everyone isnt goint to like all the songs that are in the world today..so you have the option..if you dont like it..TURN it off or change the channel

  57. bill mchill says:

    All xmas music is for turds or floaters

  58. ANDY says:

    Some of them I heard of , some not. But, where is Silent Night by Snoop Dog rank? Has to be there somewhere.

  59. Harper Knight says:

    o.k. some of youe songs I’ve never heard of before, so I can’t comment directly BUT “Grandma got run over by a
    Reindeer” IS the WORST. I’m going to be scariligeous but here are some of MY LEAST favorites, “White Christmas”, “Rudolf the Red Nosed Reindeer”
    Let it snow let it snow let it snow” It does’nt mention Christmas anywhere in the lyrics!
    I’d add Harry Belafonte’s “Mary’s Boy Child” instead.

  60. natalie says:

    I totally agree with you about the christmas shoes song. Who the hell writes a christmas song with the whole purpose of it being to depress you? The song really is depressing, and I think that one guy is right about the kid buying his mother hooker shoes. Anyway, I like ‘rockin around the christmas tree’, and ‘jingle bell rock’ but only when they are sang by the original artists. By the way, whoever insults johnny mathis doesn’t know christmas music.

  61. Suzanne1972 says:

    I totally agree with ALL of your list… and with several other peoples such as elvis blue christmas and bruce springsteens santa claus is coming to town.. dont forget madonna’s santa baby or brittney spears slutty song.. cant remember the title at the moment…or all i want for christmas is my two front teeth and i dont care WHO sings that… YUCK

    and regarding the christmas shoes whole rant… ok people.. what does the dislike of this terribly depressing sappy overdone song made for an even worse tv movie have to do with whether someone is a Christian or not??? I am a Christian, .. attend anglican service.. etc etc… and i cant stand that song OR the movie.. yes it made me weepy.. but ok.. when i am listening to my christmas tunes.. trying to decorate.. or get in the fesitive mood with my kids to rejoice in the BIRTH of my LORD… and YES i understand the underlying MEANING of the song DUH! listening to a corny depressing, twangy badly written/sung song about a kid begging for money to buy his almost dead mother a pair of shoes to bury her in/meet Jesus in… hmmm just doesnt spell pass the egg nog and rejoice to me!! says to me. wow.,.. sniff anyone got any prozac or effexor? wow you people assume alot by someone saying they dislike something…

    Some of my favourite Christmas songs/carols are… bring a torch Jeanette Isabella.. god rest ye merry gentlemen.. once in royal David city, white Christmas, So this is Christmas, The Coventry Carol, Silent night…. and obviously there are others… but I tend to the classics..( with the odd exception)

    keep up the funny work… your list was great.. cant wait to see the runners up😉

    Su

  62. Robb Scholl says:

    How about ‘Christmas in Killarney’ everytime i hear this song i wanna throw up!

  63. newbie says:

    One thing that annoys me – I absolutely adore the song “O Holy Night” but I can’t stand it when it’s sung by someone who butchers the high notes at the end. Especially female singers who just sound like they’re screeching.

  64. bats says:

    Spot on with Christmas Shoes, I instantly change the channel when I see this song pop up on my sirius. By far the worst Christmas song ever!

  65. Buckaroo says:

    …..you won’t believe what I just heard the other day. Something about a little girl farting on Santas lap and how she just had to let one rip. That’s right up there with the Christmas donkey song – Heee Hawwww Heeee Hawwww. Ahhhhhhhh! Merry Christmas!

  66. Lauren says:

    What about Jingle Cats…It’s a classic, and a little bit terrifying. Try listening to that alone in the dark.

  67. Lauren says:

    Oh…another…All I want for Christmas is my 2 front teeth. Yuk!

  68. Two Sirius says:

    Ditto what you said about Christmas Shoes. I loathe it for the exact same reason…the blatant manipulation.

    I can’t really attest to it being about the “true meaning of Christmas,” like some people are saying, because I can’t stomach it past about the first line or so. I will say, though, that it reminds me of the “Holiday Armadillo” episode of friends where Phoebe talks about her Christmas skull, and how every year her mother used to put it out as a reminder that “even though it’s Christmas, people still die!”

    And yes. I’ve lost people close to me. It’s still a revolting song.

    The other one that makes me want to pry out my own eardrums? “Our First Christmas.” Gaaaaaaag. And ANYTHING by The Carpenters.

  69. Brent says:

    The Christmas Shoes is actually the definition of what happens when treacle and drek are combined in equal amounts.

    I also vote for Little St. Nick by the Beach Boys. “Christmas comes this time each year”. Hoo boy, that’s profound…

  70. kay k. says:

    No one has mentioned my all-tiime annoying Christmas song — “The Twelve Days of Christmas.” It absolutely drives me CRAZY! It’s a good thing that we can switch stations to avoid these abominations!

  71. Cookie says:

    k first of all i hate ur taste in music but hey its a free world…….christmas shoes and christmas carol are showing the true meaning of christmas…..its about giving in a time of need….its bout thinking of others for a change and not being selfish. but thanks for letting me kno who sings them:)

  72. Anthony Rose says:

    Santa Baby by Madonna should be on there too. I love her to death, but I hate that song.

  73. john says:

    How about instead of Feliz Navidad we sing, “The Police got my Dad…The Police got my Dad…The Police got my Dad, he’s in jail and i am sad!!! Ah-Ha!!! C’mon and sing it with me!!!

  74. I saw Momma Kissing Santa Claus… That one is annoying. Your list is GREAT!

  75. Cat says:

    I’m with Leanne on the fleas and dog comment. I have now lost my mind and I’m blaming you, Scott:)

  76. J. Wise says:

    Thought Scrooge was dead, and here he is writing Christmas Song reviews!!
    I doubt if you believe in Santa—-good thing too, cause all you get this year is
    a lump of coal!!

  77. Del says:

    speaking of Rosemary Clooney I heard on the radio a duet with
    her singing with another female singer “White Christmas” –
    most beautiful new song I’ve heard this season would love to
    know who it is.

    i’ve managed to not hear xmas shoes or xmas carol this year thank god.

  78. jen says:

    THANK YOU!!! I hate the Christmas shoe song! Who wants to be depressed for Christmas? I refuse to listen to it. If it comes on I change the channel or turn it off.
    Love the “theres fleas on my dog”, I’ll never think of that song the same way again!

  79. Joy to the World says:

    YOU’RE JUST PLAIN IGNORANT AND STUPID! The Bible warns us about people like you. I just have to add you on my prayer list so your soul will be saved eternal damnation. Your poor mother!

  80. RAchel says:

    ugh how could u go and say that about the christmas shoes all christmas songs don’t have to be happy cause thats not wat christmas is all about soo it’s good to have a sad song to reflect on and just listen too how could u say that about such a great song! it actually has meening to it SHAME!

  81. Jack McClure says:

    Actually, I kinda agree with you, but am not really qualified because I haven’t heard all the songs (not carols). Doesn’t take much talent to come up with commercial drivel like most of these are, but since it sells, what does that say about the public in general?
    Personally, I like the group NewSong, but “Christmas Shoes” wasn’t really a favorite of mine. Y’might want to take a listen to “Defining Moment”. Just a thought

  82. Paulcrsm says:

    Brenda Lee????? I always thought that was Wayne Newton. I’m so disenchanted.

  83. Nixxie says:

    I dislike “Santa Claus is coming to the ghetto” by, i believe, james brown.

    Now I like “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas”😉

  84. Mimsmitty says:

    I love you, Scott. You are great!

  85. Rance says:

    Got to disagree with you on “Feliz Navidad”
    It is the most economical song of all times, a model of word recycling.
    It’s a modern Christmas standard which gets get maximum air play this time of year, and all with only 4 lines (20 words) of lyrics:

    1. Feliz Navidad
    2. Prospero año y Felicidad
    3. I want to wish you a Merry Christmas
    4. From the bottom of my heart

    It’s the ultimate cut-and-paste song.
    Plus it has a great earworm factor.

  86. Cindy says:

    I agree with you on these. Actually, if we only had to hear them maybe once or twice, they would be tolerable. But since they start playing them in October, by the time Christmas arrives, I am ready to puke. Your dislike of these songs has nothing to do with Christianity, just simply good taste. These so-called Christians who condemn you for not liking certain things or having certain preferences need to stop judging you and look at themselves for a change. The only person who can or will judge you is God and from comments I have read, these people are sorely lacking in that aspect. You keep thinking what you want to think. That is your right. Bless you.

  87. Carole says:

    Scott, I’ve been making annual CDs for 6 years now. After the first one they’ve been themed (Rock, Classical, this year is Reggae). I’d love to see what you’ve come up with though, I’m running out of ideas (next year is Disco…after that???). Can you post your CD’s play lists?

  88. Terry says:

    Scott – I believe you have a right to your opinion and to express your opinion. But, my particular thoughts about the songs on your list aside, I intend to attempt to express a somewhat christmassy message regarding people’s attitudes. I make every effort to keep it less than book length.
    Quickly judging experiences is much easier than really ‘trying’ to appreciate them. Being able to appreciate as much as is possible is the vangaurd of having an opened mind. Really ‘trying’ is frequently necessary to be able to appreciate things which strike us negativly on first thought. Creating a negative experience from an unnecessary source is just that. Creating negativity. Isn’t there enough unavoidable negativity in our lives? Must we actually create more? When we allow our tastes to motivate us to ‘hate’, Can we ever expect others to do any less (with regard to any of their tastes)? Before you know it, persons of limited intelligence have filled the world with their negativity and hatred. All based on magnifying the value of their personal tastes. Statements about the values of tastes are only disguised statements about the person speaking. They have no basis in reality.
    I suspect you wrote this blog in an attempt to be humorous and exaggerated grossly from artistc license. Still, I am always on guard against suffering unnecessary negativity at the hands of others. I even apologize beforehand if this reply is offensive to you in any way.
    I awoke today in a contemplative frame of mind. Thinking about the meaning of love and acknowledging the death of one of my great heroes 26 years ago this day. Happy Holidays to you my friend. Take care…

  89. M says:

    I confess I’m with Doug…. I love “I want a Hippopotamus for Christmas!” I’ll even go so far to admit that I like the flip side of the record (yes I did say record) — “I Dreamed that I was Santa Claus.”

  90. Judi says:

    I love / hate them all. You got the list exactly right, except there are probably 50 out there, not just 10. I want to hear some of them once each year, just so I don’t forget. Like the hippo one. Anyway – your Christmas CD is a really nice idea.

  91. Amy says:

    Blue Christmas by Elvis. Its the most overplayed song on the radio. I HATE it.

  92. Teresa says:

    I love the feeling of Christmas so even “bad Christmas songs” sound good to me.

  93. Gammie says:

    I came along your site and listen to two songs, shoes and Christmas Carol the rest I wasn’t able to listen too. can you e-mail back to me

    Gammie

  94. MozartsDreamer says:

    Good idea, this TOP 10…
    You ALL forgot, (or perhaps, never even heard), One of the ALL TIME WORST…
    I grew up taking long car trips to the beach listening to 8-Tracks,,, and John Denver was a family fave… But he divorced Annie (Annie’s Song), and he cut his hair, and got contacts…
    sigh, John Denver changed his format et al, and came out with

    Please, Daddy (Don’t Get Drunk On Christmas)

    My Mom said it was ‘Tacky’, my papa said it was, ‘ridiculous’, and I think it is the WORST Xmas tune I ever heard.
    Other bad tunes might be Mel Blanc’s kid doing

    Feliz Navidad (Featuring Speedy Gonzales)

    and I never could stand Miss Piggy with the Muppets© doing

    12 Days of Xmas (Miss Piggy is annoying after hearing this song each and every day at the shop I work at! I can’t rev the diesels loud enough to drown out that cow, er, pig!)

    Wham! – Last Christmas sucks, (I think, just MY opinion, I know there are fans)

    Jingle Bells – DOGS?! – And, yeah, the dogs? They actually play that VERY often on the radio. It’s about as amusing as a funny ani Gif, the FIRST time it’s funny. After that, it’s ARMAGEDDON!

    (Good songs I think are Burl Ives Holly Jolly Xmas, Ol’ Satchmo’s Night b4 Xmas & Baby, It’s Cold Outside, Bingster’s White Christmas, and My personal FAVE, A MUSIC BOX CHRISTMAS,,, best, cause it’s good background, or, as we say in the DJ biz, It’s a decent TALKOVER kinda sound.

    Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night.

  95. JSP says:

    Not too bad, pretty much covers the bases. I disagree with the TSO, at least they liven up christmas crap. One you missed though, “Merry Christmas, Darling” – Carpenters. ARGH! Stick a spoon in my eye instead!

  96. jim says:

    Out of over 1000 Christmas songs in my itunes (which has NEVER held that AWFUL Christmas Shoes song) I have my very own anti-Christmas playlist. These songs represent the most twisted view anyone could take on the season.

    Poo Choo Train – Mr. Hanky the Christmas Poo
    Holy Shit, It’s Christmas – Red Peters
    Betty Ford for Christmas – Leif Garrett & The Crush Ups
    It’s The Most Fatening Time Of The Year – Bob Rivers (special appearance by Richard Simmons)
    Carol of the Drunks – Bob Rivers
    Christmas In The Drunk Tank – The Pogues
    Grandpa Got Run Over By A Beer Truck – Bob Rivers
    I Farted On Santa’s Lap – The Little Stinker
    12 Drugs Of Christmas – Afroman
    Merry Fucking Christmas – Mr Garrison from South Park
    Grab Your Balls Like Michael Jackson – Bob Rivers
    Homo Christmas – Pansy Division
    Christmas Time For My Penis – The Vandals
    Santa Claus is Fooling Around – Bob Rivers
    I Saw Daddy Kissing Santa – Kip Addotta
    Walking Round in Women’s Underwear – Bob Rivers
    O Holy Night – Eric Cartman from South Park
    Yellow Snow! Yellow Snow! Yellow Snow! – Bob Rivers
    Put the Loot In the Boot Santa – Mae West
    Mr. Hanky The Christmas Poo – Mr. Hanky
    Dreidal, Dreidal, Dreidal – South Park
    Hard Candy Christmas – RuPaul
    Santa Baby – Mae West
    Wreck The Malls – Bob Rivers
    Christmas Balls – SNL skit
    Swiss Colony Beef Log – Eric Cartman
    If It Doesn’t Snow On Christmas – Joe Pesci
    Frosty the Pervet – unkown
    Rudolph the Deep Throat Reindeer – Bob Rivers
    Jingle Bell Cock – Blowfly
    Dirty Sleigh Bells – unkown
    Here Comes Fatty Claus – Rudolph and Gang
    The 12 Beers of Christmas – Bob & Doug McKenzie
    You Ain’t Gett’in Shit For Christmas – Red Sovine

  97. Mike says:

    I just took a quick glance and didn’t see this on here yet, but my favorite Christmas song has got to be “Snoopy’s Christmas” by the Royal Guardsmen.

  98. Whatever says:

    Just to let you know the Christmas Shoes song is about a little poor kid trying to be nice to his dying mother by buy her a nice pair of shoes. Plus he doesnt beg the guy in front of him. The guy BEHIND the kid hears his story when the kid tell the cleck that is all the money he has and the guy is being NICE (unlike you) and show the true Christmas spirit by caring for others.

  99. panthergirl says:

    LOL… I clicked on your banner JUST to make sure “The Christmas Shoes” had made the list. How delighted I was to see it in the #1 spot!

    I wrote about it last year… what a sappy piece of drek. I heard it in the dentist’s waiting room, and I was sure he played it to make people welcome a root canal or any other invasive dental work he had in store for them.

    OH, and for the naysayers… I am not insensitive to stories about dying parents. I am raising my 11 year old son alone because his father smoked himself to death three years ago. “The Christmas Shoes” is just bad music. Period.

  100. chuck says:

    how about simply having a wonderful christmas time by Paul McCartney

  101. Ed says:

    Entertainment Weekly has mentioned “Christmas Shoes” as one of the worst Christmas songs ever. Scott, you trend setter!

    http://popwatch.ew.com/popwatch/2006/12/if_you_still_ha.html

  102. Bah Humbug NOT says:

    You suck for including Christmas Shoes. You have no idea how to be compassionate. I feel sorry for you and pray for your soul, that is if it’s not too late.

    Merry Christmas!!! :)

  103. Noel says:

    there is nothen wrone with the song chriatmas shoes because my mom and dad broke up when i was 8 and that was my fav. holady and i loved it but evert since they broke up or deviorced christmas has never been the same. and a lot of people back then died around christmas.

  104. ANNIE says:

    Umm… yeah. If you really dislike the shoe song weel you got not heart at all. THAT SONG NOT ONLY BRINGS JOY MY HEART BUT IT TELLS US THE TRUTH ABOUT CHIRSTMAS LOVE!!! i really hope you take into consideration what christmas is truly about.

  105. paul says:

    I think the people upset about “Shoes” are missing Scott’s point. It’s not that Scott disagrees with the MESSAGE of the song, per se. It’s that he disagrees with the delivery. It does have a wonderful message, but it IS a very BLATENTLY MANIPULATIVE and POORLY WRITTEN/SUNG song.

    It’s like if Scott said, “I hate Taco Bell”. And people started calling him a racist against Hispanics because he doesn’t like Taco Bell. No, it would be because he dislikes cheap bad food.

    Also, Post 79 makes me laugh; ‘Joy to the World’ said, “YOU’RE JUST PLAIN IGNORANT AND STUPID! The Bible warns us about people like you. I just have to add you on my prayer list so your soul will be saved eternal damnation. Your poor mother!”

    LOL The contradiction. “Joy to the World”?!? I’d hate to think what the author would have said if their name was ‘Burn in Hell’.

  106. Would anything by Yogi Yorgesson count, especially “I Yust Go Nuts at Christmas” and “I Was Santa at The Schoolhouse (For the PTA)”?

  107. Michael says:

    Hey Doug,

    You’re not the only one who wants to stomp around the living room to I want a Hippo… My partner Joel fell in love with this obscure song last chritsmas, and he is so thrilled to have it now, and yes he stomps around (he says marches around like shirley temple) every time he hears it.

  108. Clinton Phillips says:

    The number one and number two songs on the list are two GREAT SONGS and do not belong on any worst list. I do agree that there are songs which are a little bit more positive and those are fine, I enjoy them also. However, these songs are in the group of songs that capture the true meaning of Christmas, which is providing hope, giving unto other and spreading joy and love to others. Granted the Christmas Shoes song tells a sad story it has a beautiful message behind it about how one person can help another so much, and at that moment be as important as anyone. The Christmas Shoes was also made into a movie, which is a must watch as far as I am concerned. These songs will definately make it on my Christmas album which I am making at this moment.

  109. Dop says:

    I totally agree with you on Christmas Shoes. But have you ever heard the song, “Dominick The Christmas Donkey”?

  110. Lyndsey says:

    i agree with annie that shoes song is really great, it does tell you the TRUE MEANING OF CHRISTMAS. if you dont like that song then i guess that you have a problem with giving tou like to get and not give what SELFISH people!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  111. Bob says:

    Totally with you on your #1 worst song. That Shoe song is so sappy and manipulative. Anyone who tried to defend it in this post is a moron. I hate that song.

  112. Bob says:

    Can I just add, to all you “true meaning of Christmas” simpletons who defend the Shoe song: there are plenty, PLENTY of songs about Christ’s birth that reflect the true meaning. Put those on your stupid Christmas album, Clinton Phillips. Wake up losers; that song was written to manipulate you, to tug at your heart and to SELL SELL SELL. It’s not only a downer, but it makes no friggin sense. Are we supposed to believe Christ is so materialistic he will be impressed with the mothers new pumps? What an assinine song.

  113. Marilyn says:

    I have to go on record and say the 12 Days of Christmas is the most boring song ever. I’d rather listen to the Granmom thing twice and that’s saying something. Also, any animal barking, mooing, howling etc. Jingle Bells is a no-no.

  114. Lyndsey says:

    if you dont like the christmas shoes song well here are the lyrics and read them over and over until you get the song because this song is so beautiful you need to think of all the people that are homeless people and their mom is sick and they buy her a new pair of shoes so she can meet jesus looking nice for him!!!! here are the lyrics Bob Carlisle:

    It was almost Christmas time
    There I stood in another line
    Try to buy that last give or two
    I’m really in Christmas mood
    Standing right in front of me
    Was a little boy waiting anxiously
    Pacing around like little boys do
    And in his hands he had
    A pair of shoes

    And his clothes were worn and old
    He was dirty from head to toe
    And when it came his time to pay
    I couldn’t believe what I heard him say

    Sir I wanna buy these shoes for my Momma please
    It’s Christmas Eve and these shoes are just her size
    Could you hurry Sir?
    Daddy says there’s not much time
    You see she’s been sick for quite a while
    And I know these shoes will make her smile
    And I want it to look beautiful
    If Momma meets Jesus tonight

    They counted pennies for what seems like years
    And cashier says son there’s not enough here
    He searches is pockets franticly
    And he turned and he looked at me
    And he said Momma made Christmas good in our house
    Most years she just did without
    Tell me Sir
    What am I gonna do?
    Some how I gotta buy her these Christmas shoes

    So I lend the money down
    I just had to help him out
    And I’ll never forget
    The look on his face
    When he said Momma’s gonna look so great

    Sir I wanna buy these shoes for my Momma please
    It’s Christmas Eve and these shoes are just her size
    Could you hurry Sir?
    Daddy says there’s not much time
    You see she’s been sick for quite a while
    And I know these shoes will make her smile
    And I want it to look beautiful
    If Momma meets Jesus tonight

    I know I won’t regret some help as he thanked me and ran out
    I know that God sent that little boy to remind me
    What Christmas is all about

    Sir I wanna buy these shoes for my Momma please
    It’s Christmas Eve and these shoes are just her size
    Could you hurry Sir?
    Daddy says there’s not much time
    You see she’s been sick for quite a while
    And I know these shoes will make her smile
    And I want it to look beautiful
    If Momma meets Jesus tonight

    I want it to look good
    If Momma meet’s Jesus tonight

  115. Winter's Bitter Sting says:

    Just happened upon this but… I can’t believe people are being such morons about one stupid song about some kid who wants shoes for his dying mom when he should be at home and by her side instead of out Christmas shopping in the first place. She could’ve died while he was out shopping for material goods for her immaterial soul for Christ’s sake.😄

    But hey, that’s what the writer wants us to fall for. Instead of focusing on spending his last night with her there by her side, he’s out shopping for red Jesus knee-highs? That’s materialism people. The guy behind him, sure he realizes something, but the kid… The song’s mentality is to end sadly so that you all remember it, and you have.

    All the all-caps and cursing and childish name-calling that keep you from the “true meaning of Christmas” aren’t going to change the fact that the writer wanted to embed this into your spongey human brains, and you all fell for it. NONE of you, like it or hate it, will ever forget that song.

    LOL

    I don’t agree with the list entirely, but I definately understand why you chose the songs you did. Overplay is a problem this time of year, and not everyone likes hard versions of the oldies but goodies. And do add Dominic the Christmas Donkey as well. You won’t regret it.

  116. Winter's Bitter Sting says:

    Just happened upon this but… I can’t believe people are being such morons about one stupid song about some kid who wants shoes for his dying mom when he should be at home and by her side instead of out Christmas shopping in the first place. She could’ve died while he was out shopping for material goods for her immaterial soul for Christ’s sake.😄

    But hey, that’s what the writer wants us to fall for. Instead of focusing on spending his last night with her there by her side, he’s out shopping for red Jesus knee-highs? That’s materialism people. The guy behind him, sure he realizes something, but the kid… The song’s mentality is to end sadly so that you all remember it, and you have.

    All the all-caps and cursing and childish name-calling that keep you from the “true meaning of Christmas” aren’t going to change the fact that the writer wanted to embed this into your spongey human brains, and you all fell for it. NONE of you, like it or hate it, will ever forget that song.

    LOL

    I don’t agree with the list entirely, but I definately understand why you chose the songs you did. Overplay is a problem this time of year, and not everyone likes hard versions of the oldies but goodies. And do add Dominic the Christmas Donkey as well. You won’t regret it.

  117. Winter's Bitter Sting says:

    Just happened upon this but… I can’t believe people are being such morons about one stupid song about some kid who wants shoes for his dying mom when he should be at home and by her side instead of out Christmas shopping in the first place. She could’ve died while he was out shopping for material goods for her immaterial soul for Christ’s sake.😄

    But hey, that’s what the writer wants us to fall for. Instead of focusing on spending his last night with her there by her side, he’s out shopping for red Jesus knee-highs? That’s materialism people. The guy behind him, sure he realizes something, but the kid… The song’s mentality is to end sadly so that you all remember it, and you have.

    All the all-caps and cursing and childish name-calling that keep you from the “true meaning of Christmas” aren’t going to change the fact that the writer wanted to embed this into your spongey human brains, and you all fell for it. NONE of you, like it or hate it, will ever forget that song.

    LOL

    I don’t agree with the list entirely, but I definately understand why you chose the songs you did. Overplay is a problem this time of year, and not everyone likes hard versions of the oldies but goodies. And do add Dominic the Christmas Donkey as well. You won’t regret it.

  118. anthony says:

    SCOTT,

    John Lennon & Yoko Ono – Happy Xmas (War Is Over)

    is a fucking awsome song,
    i am not gonna bitch over how u dont like it, unlike half the fucking ppl who posted in this

  119. Nancy says:

    And let us not forget “Santa Claus is coming to town” by Bruce! How bad is that!!! An outright assault!!

    A close second might be Lou Rawl’s beboppin’ to “Little Drummer Boy” or Harry Conick Jr.’s “Silent Night”. Talk about messing up otherwise beautiful music. And the list goes on!!

  120. Bob Johnson says:

    I would put that stupid John Lennon song and Feliz Navidad as number 1. I like transiberian orchestra when they are instrumental not singing, and I really hate hearing those stupid crooners all day long! Like nat king cole, andy williams, bing crosby and all that old crap. there is a reason that music died off. it’s time to move on!

  121. Nanna says:

    Christmas Shoes and My Name is Christmas Carol are country and sappy and maybe even manipulative. By the way, the boy is not begging. They serve a purpose for the holidays I think. Christmas is suppose to be a giving season and a time to count our blessings. What’s wrong with a couple of songs keeping things in perspective for us and letting us know that not every one is as fortunate as us. Yes, they make me cry, but I don’t think I’ve even hear “My Name is . . .” this year and I miss it. “. . . Shoes” – I’ve heard a little too often. “Grandma Got Run Over . . .” is just a fun song for little, little ones to sing. I’m sure to them this is hysterical – not really understanding what being run over by reindeer means.

    Enjoy your list, enjoy your music. Sending a CD is an excellent idea. Happy New Year! Thanks for the website.

  122. Wham definately. There’s also another unbelievably crappy christmas song by Christina Aguilera

  123. Seattleite says:

    If your mama’s home dying don’t you think you should be at her side? Not standing in a shoe store. I don’t think Jesus cares what I wear on my feet when I meet him, at least I hope not! My button-pushing, channel-changing skills are honed to a fine art in December because I can’t get this song off the radio fast enough.

    My favorite Christmas song? Even in April it’s the “Little Drummer Boy” duet with David Bowie and Bing Crosby.

    My

  124. Nighteagle says:

    small foot not here. You ain’t getting shit for christmas is done by Red Peters not Red Sovine tho if you look for it on limewire itcomes up that way

  125. Mathilda says:

    I cried and cried the first time I heard the Christmas Shoes. Finally I managed to stop laughing and get myself under control. As for all of the people who think that this song epitomizes “the true meaning of Christmas”, um, what exactly is that? Isn’t it called CHRISTmas for a reason? This poor kid’s mother is dying and NOBODY, not she, not the dickhead behind him in line, and certainly not his pastor, has ever sat him down and said “Look sweetie, Jesus WILL think your mother looks beautiful if she kicks off tonight, whether or not she has new red FM pumps on, whether or not she’s been burned to a crispy critter in a house fire, whether or not she’s an AIDS infested junkie prostitute. He will think she looks beautiful and love her no matter what.” Isn’t THAT supposed to be the true meaning of Christmas?

  126. atwood says:

    December 5th, 2005 at 5:54 am

    how about the Jingle Bell Rock ?

    sheesh, If I hear that damn song one more time………

  127. TED says:

    I have immense fondness for “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas,” but I’m pretty much with your list otherwise. I knew what would be #1 as soon as I started reading. It’s so wrong for so many reasons, starting with the evils of consumerism. I swear every time I hear it come on the radio, because a) it’s falsely sentimental and b) it epitomizes the exact opposite of the Christmas spirit.

    I haven’t heard it yet this year, but now I’ll be thinking about it for hours. Good job with the pure evil.

    TED’s last blog post..I Can Make You a Man

  128. utenzi says:

    Christmas Shoes is very annoying. I like “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas†but hearing it once or twice a year is enough. It does get old fast.

    utenzi’s last blog post..Chantix

  129. clevergirljc says:

    How can you say that My name is Christmas Carole be one of the worst songs? I think that you really need to take the time and listen to the words in this song. This is a heart warming song that has very bit of What would Jesus do in this song! Helping another to see love and have a family is what the spirit is all about! This is one of th best songs for a family to hear and be thankful for the family they have even if they want to choke someone within that family! I think more of us here in America needs to take the time to listen to this song and do the same that the man in the song did! Bring a needy child into his home and offered her love and a family! Get this song off of your list and remember the true reason for the season, a baby was born to save you and I and the rest of the world from total damnation!
    I was playing Santa Clause downtown on Christmas Eve,

    when a little girl of 3 or 4 climbed up onto my knee,

    I could tell she had a Christmas wish behind those eyes of blue,

    so I ask her what’s your name and what can Santa do for you?

    She said my name is Christmas Carol, I was born on Christmas Day.

    I don’t know who my daddy is and mommy’s gone away.

    All I want for Christmas is someone to take me home!

    Does anybody want a Christmas Carol of their own?

    Well all that I could say was Santa would do the best he could.

    Then I sat her down and told her now remember to be to be good.

    She said “I will” then walked away, turned to wave good-bye.

    And I’m glad she wasn’t close enough to see Ole Santa cry!

    She said my name is Christmas Carol, I was born on Christmas Day.

    I don’t know who my daddy is and mommy’s gone away.

    All I want for Christmas is someone to take me home!

    Does anybody want a Christmas Carol of their own?

    Early Christmas morning I got up and dialed the phone.

    I made a few arrangements at the County Children’s home.

    They told me it would be alright to pick her up today.

    Now my little Christmas Carol won’t ever have to say,

    She said my name is Christmas Carol, I was born on Christmas Day.

    I don’t know who my daddy is and mommy’s gone away.

    All I want for Christmas is someone to take me home!

    Does anybody want a Christmas Carol of their own?

    WELL MERRY CHRISTMAS CAROL,

    I LOVE YOU, WELCOME HOME

  130. Addison says:

    Okay u guy everyone has there own thoughts about songs just cause one person says they dont like this or they dont like that isnt a big deal you all are saying that omg you dont like christmas shoes its like the only song that shows the true meaning of christmas but what you doing by cursing at him and calling him name isnt the true meaning of christmas either

  131. veljo says:

    Christmas in Sarajevo – absolutely the best ever

  132. […] of crappy Christmas songs out there that always seemed to be intermixed with the songs I liked. (See my list of the 10 Worst Christmas songs here.) Since this was about the time the original Napster started getting popular, I decided to put […]

  133. nymphomercial says:

    ‘The Christmas Shoes’ is the worst…song…ever. You MUST hear this parody called ‘The Christmas Thong’:
    http://thefump.com/fump.php?id=1120

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

